Twisted Metal Review. Does it satisfy the sweet tooth of fans?

When I found out that Twisted Metal was finally getting a release for the Playstation 3 I was so excited.  This excitement started to hinder when I found out that yet another developer called Eat Sleep Play was going to take charge of the development.  In case you’re wondering fans, these are not the same developers of the first two Twisted Metal titles.  

Image

Graphics:  Twisted Metal presents some amazing graphics.  The explosions and backgrounds are top notch in quality.  The arenas are very well suited for the atmosphere.  Overall a nice presentation.  Score: 9/10

Sound:  We all know that Twisted Metal has been famous for it’s gothic/heavy metal like soundtrack.  This newest addition aims to please their fans.  The music tends to pump you up for every battle.  The explosions are loud and insane, and the character voiceovers are pretty well done.  Overall a nice suiting package for Twisted Metal fans.  Score: 9/10

 

Gameplay:  This can be hit or miss for some fans of the series.  The controls for Twisted Metal are overall adequate.  There is however one major issue here.  There are too many controls.  You can literally find yourself using every button and function on the PS3 controller when playing the game.  While at times it can seem fun and addicting, there are other points especially in very hectic battles where you can find the controls overly irritating.  It all depends on your taste.  Score: 8.5/10

Issues:  Twisted Metal much like Soul Calibur suffers from lack of story.  You only play as four characters in story mode; Calypso, Mr. Grimm, Sweet Tooth, and Dollface.  Unfortunately, the single player mode is a very short experience.  Eat Sleep Play seemed to put all their elbow grease into making Twisted Metal a strictly multi-player game.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not objecting to that in any way, but you can’t forget about the roots of what made a franchise so great.  Sadly a lot of new age developers forget this aspect when receiving a project.  

Final thoughts:  Twisted Metal is a great game.  Unfortunately, the lack of story makes this a game strictly for online addicts only.  If you’re someone looking for the same twisted story lines and characters of Twisted Metal Black, then you may be in for a disappointment.  This may upset a few longtime fans of the series.

Final Score 9/10

Thanks for subscribing to my blog, and be sure to tell your fellow gamers about my blog as well.

See you next week when I prescribe a list of anticipated games for Spring, and a few of my favorite tracks from games of the past and present.

Thanks,

Lucas

About The Gaming Angel

Social media fanatic and big time gamer. Love gaming, anime and the field of marketing and I am always in constant activities in the marketing field. I a physically active person staying in shape at the gym...yeah i'm a little gym freak. Be sure to follow my blog for all the latest reviews.

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hmm, Graphics a 9? IMO, the game looks like a 2010 game. Either way, I’ve been eying this title for a while. IGN gave it a 9.0, but some other sites average out to about 7 or 7.5.
    I’m not too big on online play, and I’ve heard many complaints about it’s single-player experience, so my question is if it is a good game to buy for local multiplayer. I would really love something addicting for me and my younger sister to get into, but very few games have local-competitive multiplayer.

    • Hey Tony,

      Thanks for your comment. If you are a person who craves online multi-player as opposed to a single player experience then Twisted Metal is right up your alley. Keep in mind the controllers may take some getting used to, but once you get the handle of it the gameplay online can get pretty intense. I don’t mind a game that is multi-player oriented, but for a series like Twisted Metal that was story based and multi-player from the beginning it just doesn’t fit my fancy. I suppose they are appealing to please a different market. You shouldn’t forget fans who have been there with you since the beginning though. I hope this helps. Thanks for following my blog.

      Lucas

Leave a Reply

